No, the best evidence so far does not show that ginkgo biloba improves memory or prevents dementia. The largest trial, the Ginkgo Evaluation of Memory (GEM) study, followed 3,069 adults aged 75 and older for a median of 6.1 years and found no reduction in dementia with ginkgo compared with placebo. The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) says there is no conclusive evidence that ginkgo helps any health condition.
That does not mean every ginkgo question is closed, and it does not mean ginkgo is dangerous for everyone. It means a memory supplement built on ginkgo deserves a careful look at the dose, the study it borrows from, and your own medicines.
What did the big ginkgo memory trial find?
The GEM study was a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial run at five US academic medical centers between 2000 and 2008. It enrolled 3,069 volunteers aged 75 or older, most with normal thinking (2,587) and some with mild cognitive impairment (482). Half took 120 mg of ginkgo extract twice a day, which is 240 mg a day, and half took a placebo. Researchers checked for new dementia every 6 months.
The results were not in ginkgo's favor. Among 523 people who developed dementia, 277 were in the ginkgo group and 246 in the placebo group. The overall dementia rate was 3.3 per 100 person-years with ginkgo versus 2.9 with placebo. The hazard ratio for all-cause dementia was 1.12 (95% confidence interval 0.94 to 1.33), so the study could not rule out chance, and the direction was not better. For people who started with mild cognitive impairment, the hazard ratio was 1.13 (0.85 to 1.50). Side effects were similar between groups, and only 6.3% of participants dropped out or were lost to follow-up.
The authors concluded that ginkgo at 120 mg twice a day was not effective in reducing dementia or Alzheimer disease in these older adults.
What does the wider evidence say?
NCCIH's summary is more cautious than most sales pages. It says that in three large studies of older adults with normal thinking or mild cognitive impairment, ginkgo extract did not reduce the risk of dementia. It says ginkgo may have a modest benefit for symptoms in people who already have dementia, particularly at relatively high doses, but the evidence is inconsistent, and it is unclear whether ginkgo helps milder impairment.
For healthy adults, the same page says it is uncertain whether "brain health" ginkgo products influence cognitive performance and that much of the research is of low quality. NCCIH also lists a few conditions, such as anxiety and vertigo, where small amounts of evidence hint at a possible benefit but are not conclusive, and it says ginkgo has not been shown to prevent heart disease, treat high blood pressure or relieve tinnitus.
So a fair one-line summary is: the biggest trial was negative for dementia prevention, and evidence for memory in healthy people is thin. Anything stronger on a sales page goes beyond what these sources support.
What dose did the trials use compared with labels?
The GEM study used a daily total of 240 mg of a ginkgo leaf extract. NCCIH notes that leaf extract is the most commonly used form. That is a useful yardstick, because many memory formulas do not come close to it, or do not say.
| Product (our review) | Ginkgo amount on label | Compared with the 240 mg trial dose |
|---|---|---|
| Advanced Memory Formula | 80 mg per 2 tablets | About a third |
| ProMind Complex | 50 mg | Roughly a fifth |
| Fast Brain Booster | 50 mg | About a fifth |
| NeuroPrime | Not stated | Cannot be compared |
| CerebroZen | Not stated | Cannot be compared |
The comparison is fair only in one direction. A lower dose does not prove a formula cannot do anything, but it means it cannot lean on a trial that used more. And where the amount is hidden, you cannot make the comparison at all.
How do memory offers use ginkgo in practice?
Ginkgo often appears as one name in a longer list. The Advanced Memory Formula review is unusually open: the label prints an amount for every ingredient, including ginkgo at 80 mg per two tablets with 24% flavone glycosides and 6% terpene lactones. That openness also lets us check it against the GEM dose, and our review noted that the dose is a third of the trial amount, so it cannot claim the same conditions either. The review scored it 3.5 for evidence and 6.0 for transparency.
Compare that with the NeuroPrime review, where ginkgo is one of nine plant ingredients in a liquid dropper with no amount for any of them, and the CerebroZen review, where ginkgo anchors a hearing pitch even though a 2013 Cochrane review of four trials, as cited in our review, did not find benefit for tinnitus as a primary complaint. In both, the most important number, the dose, is not disclosed.
You can browse more formulas in the brain and memory category, and our review method explains how we grade hidden doses.
Is ginkgo safe, and what about medicines?
NCCIH says ginkgo leaf extract is likely safe for most adults in moderate amounts, and that it has been used in research studies lasting as long as 6 years. The most common side effects are dizziness, stomach or digestive symptoms and headache. Fresh ginkgo seeds are toxic when eaten, and serious side effects have occurred after roasted seeds or the crude plant were eaten, so leaf extract and seeds are not the same product.
The main interaction to know about is bleeding. NCCIH says ginkgo may increase the risk of bleeding in people who take anticoagulant drugs such as warfarin, and that it may interact with other drugs. It may be unsafe in pregnancy, because it might cause early labor or extra bleeding near delivery, and there is little information on breastfeeding. If you take any medicine, or have surgery planned, ask your doctor or pharmacist before you use ginkgo or any herbal product.
Also remember that a memory formula is not just ginkgo. Other ingredients on the same label have their own cautions. One product we reviewed includes St. John's wort, which can interact with common medicines, so always read the whole label.
A short checklist before you buy a ginkgo memory product
- Find the ginkgo amount in milligrams and the extract type (for example, the percent flavone glycosides and terpene lactones).
- Compare it with the 240 mg a day used in the GEM trial, and remember that trial did not show less dementia.
- Be skeptical of "clinically proven" if the cited study tested a different dose, a different product or a different condition.
- Check the whole ingredient list against your medicines, especially blood thinners.
- Read the refund terms before you enter your card. Our ClickBank refund guide covers how that works.
- If you have memory concerns that worry you, book a medical visit. A supplement page cannot diagnose anything.
FAQ
Does ginkgo biloba improve memory in healthy people?
The evidence is uncertain. NCCIH says it is unclear whether ginkgo affects cognitive performance in healthy people and that much of the research is low quality.
What was the GEM trial?
It was a randomized, placebo-controlled trial of 3,069 adults aged 75 and older who took 120 mg of ginkgo extract twice a day or a placebo for a median of 6.1 years. Ginkgo did not reduce dementia or Alzheimer disease rates.
Can I take ginkgo with warfarin?
Ask your doctor or pharmacist first. NCCIH says ginkgo may increase the risk of bleeding in people taking anticoagulant drugs such as warfarin.
Does ginkgo help tinnitus?
NCCIH says research suggests ginkgo is not helpful for relieving tinnitus symptoms. Our CerebroZen review also points to a 2013 Cochrane review that found no benefit when tinnitus is the main complaint.
Put it into practice
Every DoseAudit review applies these checks to a real product: the label against the research, the true monthly price and the refund terms.
Sources
This guide is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist before you start a supplement. DoseAudit may earn a commission from affiliate links in reviews; it never changes a verdict. See affiliate disclosure.
More guides
Circulation and varicose vein supplements: what the claims leave out
What Cochrane reviews say about horse chestnut and diosmin for leg veins, and how to judge a circulation supplement's sales page.
EvidenceCollagen supplements: what the research says about skin and joints
What meta-analyses say about collagen for skin and joints, where the studies are weak, and how to check a label before you buy.
EvidenceGarcinia cambogia and HCA: what the studies found
What the JAMA trial and pooled reviews found on garcinia cambogia and HCA, the doses used, NIH safety notes, and how to read a weight-loss label.