All reviews

Ingredients

What does a moringa supplement label really give you?

A 12-week trial in people with prediabetes used 2,400 mg a day of moringa leaf powder. Many capsule labels print less than half that, or no milligrams at all.

Short answer: a moringa supplement label usually tells you the capsule count and sometimes the milligrams, but the number that matters is how much leaf reaches you per day compared with the amount used in human trials. The one randomized trial we could open in people with prediabetes used 2,400 mg a day of dry moringa leaf powder, taken as six capsules, for 12 weeks. Many labels print far less, or no amount at all. This article is general information, not medical advice.

We audit offers, so below we compare label amounts with that trial, show what a few moringa products in our reviews print, and give a checklist you can use at the checkout page.

What does moringa research actually show?

Moringa oleifera is a tree whose leaves are eaten as food in parts of Asia and Africa and sold as powder and capsules. A 2024 review of the plant describes its chemical makeup (proteins, fatty acids, vitamins and plant compounds) and surveys possible uses. But lists of compounds and lab results are not the same as human outcomes.

Two small human studies on blood sugar illustrate the gap between "interesting" and "established".

  • In a 2021 double-blind, placebo-controlled trial, people with prediabetes took six capsules a day of moringa leaf powder (2,400 mg) or placebo for 12 weeks, with 31 people in the moringa group and 34 in the placebo group. Fasting glucose and HbA1c changed in opposite directions between the groups, falling with moringa and rising with placebo. No differences were found in gut bacteria, liver and kidney markers or appetite hormones. The authors concluded the results suggest moringa might act as a natural antihyperglycemic agent, which is a hypothesis for further study, not a treatment recommendation.
  • In a 2018 study, 17 people with diabetes and 10 healthy people ate a traditional meal with or without 20 g of moringa leaf powder. In the diabetic group the glucose response was lower with moringa, and healthy people showed no difference. The authors noted that the taste of a 20 g dose was poorly accepted, that lower doses should be tested, and that long-term effects still needed to be shown.

Both studies are small and used leaf powder at gram-level amounts. Neither tested a branded blend, and neither is a reason to take moringa instead of a diabetes treatment. Anyone managing blood sugar should talk to a doctor before adding it.

How many milligrams is a "moringa capsule"?

Capsule counts are not doses. A bottle of 60 capsules sounds like two months of product, but if each capsule holds a few hundred milligrams, the amounts studied in trials need several capsules a day.

Here is simple arithmetic you can do on any label. The 2021 trial used 2,400 mg a day. If a capsule holds 400 mg of leaf powder, that is six capsules a day, and a 60-capsule bottle lasts 10 days. If a capsule holds 355 mg, you would need about seven capsules a day. If the label only says "2 capsules a day" with no milligrams, you cannot do this math, and the product cannot be compared with the trial at all.

What do moringa products in our reviews print?

ProductMoringa on the labelCompared with 2,400 mg a day
EZNaturals Moringa Leaf Complex355 mg per capsule: 100 mg leaf powder, 20 mg 10:1 extract, 235 mg 20:1 extractTwo capsules give 710 mg of material, about 30 percent
Man Greens1 g of moringa in a daily scoop of a greens blendAbout 42 percent, shared with other ingredients
Moringa MagicMoringa leaf powder, amount per capsule not statedCannot be compared
NeuroPrimeMoringa listed first among nine herbs in a liquid, no amountCannot be compared

The EZNaturals row needs a note. Its extracts are concentrated, so the leaf-equivalent could be higher than 710 mg, but the label gives no marker compound and the equivalent figure is a manufacturer claim that we could not verify. Our review credits the product for printing every amount, and points out that the 3-bottle plan works out to about $53 a month.

The Moringa Magic review notes that the one human trial it could open used 2,400 mg a day, so a page that never states milligrams per capsule gives you nothing to compare. A single bottle there is $124 after shipping, or $49 a month only if you commit to six bottles. NeuroPrime's moringa shares a small daily dropper with eight other ingredients, so even a generous guess puts it well below gram-level amounts.

Is moringa leaf powder different from capsule extracts?

Yes, and the label wording matters. "Leaf powder" is the dried, ground leaf, which is the form studied in the two trials above. An extract with a ratio such as 10:1 or 20:1 describes how much leaf was used to make a unit of extract. It does not state what the extract contains, and two 10:1 extracts can differ a lot. Branded blends, "complexes" and greens powders add other ingredients, which can make a label look full while the moringa share stays small.

For anyone shopping on price, the useful unit is dollars per gram of moringa leaf powder per day, not dollars per bottle. Our energy and wellness category lists the moringa products we have reviewed, and our review method explains how we handle undisclosed doses.

What should you ask a doctor before taking moringa?

The LactMed database, from the US National Library of Medicine, says moringa leaves have been used in Asia to support breast milk supply, that a meta-analysis of 14 studies with 865 subjects found moringa increased prolactin and milk volume, and that studies have found no serious short-term adverse effects in nursing mothers. It also says moringa may stimulate blood clotting, so caution is advisable in anyone at high risk for blood clots.

That clotting note is a good example of why to ask. People who take blood thinners, who have had blood clots, who are pregnant or breastfeeding, or who take medicine for diabetes should check with a doctor or pharmacist first. The FDA gives the same general advice for any dietary supplement and says supplements might interact with medicines or other supplements. LactMed also reminds readers that differences are often found between labeled and actual ingredients or amounts in supplements.

A checklist for a moringa label

  1. Find milligrams of moringa per capsule or scoop, and the number of capsules in a serving.
  2. Multiply by the daily servings. Compare the result with 2,400 mg, the amount in the trial we opened.
  3. Check whether the form is leaf powder, extract or a mix, and whether a marker compound is stated.
  4. Count how many days the bottle lasts at that dose and divide the price by days.
  5. Look past the story. A page that promises benefits for energy, weight, heart and brain at once is bundling claims no single plant has shown.
  6. Read the refund terms on the order form. Our Digistore24 refund guide and ClickBank refund guide explain both networks.

FAQ

How much moringa powder is in a typical supplement?

It varies widely. EZNaturals prints 355 mg per capsule, Man Greens prints 1 g per scoop inside a blend, and some pages print nothing. The trial we opened used 2,400 mg a day.

Does moringa lower blood sugar?

One 12-week trial in people with prediabetes found favorable changes in fasting glucose and HbA1c compared with placebo. It was small, so it is a lead for future research, not proof, and not advice to change any treatment.

Is moringa safe during pregnancy or breastfeeding?

LactMed reports no serious short-term adverse effects in nursing mothers who ate moringa leaves, but says caution is advisable for anyone at high risk for blood clots. Pregnancy and breastfeeding decisions belong with a doctor.

Is a moringa extract stronger than leaf powder?

Not automatically. A 10:1 or 20:1 ratio tells you how much leaf went in, not which compounds you get, so compare milligrams and the form together.

Put it into practice

Every DoseAudit review applies these checks to a real product: the label against the research, the true monthly price and the refund terms.

Browse 518 reviews

Sources

This guide is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist before you start a supplement. DoseAudit may earn a commission from affiliate links in reviews; it never changes a verdict. See affiliate disclosure.

More guides