A high-dose niacin label means the capsule holds far more vitamin B3 than the 14 to 16 mg adults need each day, and in the nicotinic acid form that can cause flushing: a feeling of warmth, redness, itching or tingling of the face, neck, arms or upper chest. Niacinamide (also called nicotinamide) is a different form that rarely flushes. The adult upper limit set to avoid flushing is 35 mg a day, so a label showing 75 mg or more is well above it.
That is why the same word, niacin, can mean a harmless multivitamin amount or a dose that makes your skin turn red. This guide explains the difference, what the research on big doses actually looked at, and how to read the niacin line on real offers.
What does the niacin number on a label mean?
Niacin is vitamin B3. MedlinePlus lists the Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA) at 16 mg a day for males 14 and older and 14 mg for females, rising to 18 mg in pregnancy and 17 mg while breastfeeding. The FDA Daily Value is 16 mg NE. NE stands for niacin equivalents, a unit the FDA's label key defines, so a figure written "20 mg NE" is not the same as 20 mg of pure nicotinic acid.
Percent Daily Value makes the scale clear. A label showing 125% DV is about 20 mg NE. One showing 469% DV is about 75 mg, which is more than four times the daily need.
Niacin or niacinamide: what is the difference?
MedlinePlus says niacin supplements given as treatment for high cholesterol can cause flushing, and that supplements in the form of nicotinamide or niacinamide do not appear to cause side effects like that. The Linus Pauling Institute at Oregon State University adds that flushing may occur at doses as low as 30 mg a day of nicotinic acid, and that flushing from nicotinamide is rare.
So the form matters. A label that says only "niacin" or "vitamin B3" does not tell you which form is inside. A label that says "niacinamide" or "nicotinamide" is much less likely to flush. Our review data keeps the two apart for exactly this reason.
What is the upper limit for niacin?
The Food and Nutrition Board set the tolerable upper intake level for adults at 35 mg a day, according to the Linus Pauling Institute. It was set to avoid flushing, not because 36 mg is dangerous. The same source says the limit does not apply to people being treated with a nutrient under medical supervision, for example high-dose nicotinic acid for high cholesterol.
That nuance matters. A doctor may prescribe grams of niacin for a specific reason and monitor the patient. A supplement sold without that oversight is a different situation. MedlinePlus lists what too much niacin can cause: increased blood sugar, liver damage, peptic ulcers and skin rashes. The UK's NHS says taking high doses of nicotinic acid for a long time could lead to liver damage, and that there is not enough evidence to know the effects of taking high daily doses of nicotinamide.
What did the high-dose niacin research look at?
The best-known trial is AIM-HIGH. It gave 3,414 patients with cardiovascular disease and low HDL cholesterol either extended-release niacin at 1,500 to 2,000 mg a day or a placebo, on top of statin treatment. Niacin raised median HDL cholesterol from 35 to 42 mg per deciliter and lowered triglycerides from 164 to 122. But the trial was stopped after about 3 years for lack of efficacy: the primary end point occurred in 16.4% of the niacin group and 16.2% of the placebo group.
Two lessons for a supplement label. First, the doses studied were 1,500 to 2,000 mg, not 75 mg, and they were given under medical care to people already on a statin. Second, even a clear change in a lab number did not translate into fewer events in that trial. A capsule with a small amount of niacin cannot borrow that research, and a large amount does not make it a safe do-it-yourself version either.
What do real labels show?
| Offer | Niacin on the label | Compared with 16 mg DV and 35 mg limit |
|---|---|---|
| Cardio Shield | Niacinamide, 20 mg NE (125% DV) | Ordinary multivitamin-level dose |
| Goliath XL10 | Niacin (vitamin B3), 75 mg (469% DV) | More than double the 35 mg limit |
| Protoflow | Niacin (vitamin B3), 75 mg (469% DV) | More than double the 35 mg limit |
| Endo Pump | Niacin, amount not stated | Cannot be compared |
| VivaSlim | Niacin, amount not stated | Cannot be compared |
Goliath XL10's review says the 75 mg is a real, disclosed dose and warns that high-dose niacin can cause skin flushing, which some buyers may mistake for the product working. Protoflow's review makes a similar point: the amount is high enough that some users may notice a flushing sensation, which the label does not warn about specifically. A flush is a vitamin effect, not evidence that a formula is doing what the sales page claims.
Cardio Shield is the contrast. Its niacin is listed as niacinamide at 20 mg NE, which the review calls a standard multivitamin-level dose, noting that niacin's cardiovascular research uses far higher prescription-strength amounts.
For Endo Pump and VivaSlim the problem is the opposite. Endo Pump's review says no amount is given and that niacin's flushing is dose-dependent, so the missing amount matters. VivaSlim's page claims niacin raises adiponectin by 21% but gives no amount in the formula, per our review.
It also helps to know that niacin appears under several names on ingredient lists: niacin, vitamin B3, nicotinic acid, nicotinamide, niacinamide, and sometimes as part of chromium niacinate or a B-complex. A "full B-vitamin complex" with no amounts can contain niacin too, so a missing number is not the same as no niacin. If you already take a multivitamin or a B-complex, count its niacin before adding a second product.
How do you read the niacin line before buying?
- Write down the milligrams and the unit (mg versus mg NE) and compare with the 14 to 16 mg daily need.
- Find the form. "Niacinamide" or "nicotinamide" rarely flushes. Plain "niacin" or "nicotinic acid" can.
- If the amount is above 35 mg, expect a possible flush and ask a doctor first if you have liver disease, ulcers, diabetes or take a cholesterol medicine.
- Do not read a flush as proof the product works. See how we score claims in how we review.
- If there is no amount, treat the niacin line as unknown. More on heart-related offers is in our heart health category.
FAQ
Why does niacin make my face red and hot?
MedlinePlus describes flushing as a feeling of warmth, redness, itching or tingling of the face, neck, arms or upper chest, seen when niacin supplements are taken in larger amounts. It is a known effect of nicotinic acid, and it is usually temporary. If it comes with a rash, dizziness or other symptoms, call a pharmacist or doctor.
Is niacinamide safer than niacin?
For flushing, yes: it rarely causes it. But safer for skin flushing is not the same as unlimited. The NHS says there is not enough evidence to know the effects of high daily doses of nicotinamide, so staying near the label amounts a clinician suggests is sensible.
Is 75 mg of niacin too much?
It is more than double the 35 mg upper limit for adults and over four times the RDA, so flushing is possible if it is nicotinic acid. It is not a medical dose. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist, especially if you take a statin or have liver problems.
Does niacin lower cholesterol?
MedlinePlus says large doses can modestly raise HDL cholesterol and lower triglycerides, and always advises talking to your provider before starting supplements. In the AIM-HIGH trial those lab changes did not lead to fewer cardiovascular events.
This article is general information, not medical advice. A supplement is not a substitute for a prescribed cholesterol treatment.
Put it into practice
Every DoseAudit review applies these checks to a real product: the label against the research, the true monthly price and the refund terms.
Sources
- Niacin | MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
- Niacin | Linus Pauling Institute, Oregon State University
- Vitamin B | NHS: Vitamins and minerals
- Niacin in patients with low HDL cholesterol levels receiving intensive statin therapy (AIM-HIGH) | PubMed
- Daily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels | FDA
This guide is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist before you start a supplement. DoseAudit may earn a commission from affiliate links in reviews; it never changes a verdict. See affiliate disclosure.
More guides
What to check on a shilajit supplement before you buy
Lab studies found lead, arsenic and mercury in some shilajit samples. Here is what to check on the label, the lab report and the trial doses.
SafetyIs huperzine A safe in memory supplements? What the label doses mean
What reviews and trials say about huperzine A, the doses researchers used, and how memory-supplement labels compare.
SafetyWhy is St. John's wort in some supplements a drug interaction risk?
How St. John's wort interacts with common medicines, why it appears in hearing and memory capsules, and how to spot it on a label.