Pine bark extract has been tested in small human trials for joint symptoms and circulation, but the strongest independent review, from Cochrane, concluded in 2020 that no definitive conclusions can be drawn about its effects. One trial of 100 people with mild knee osteoarthritis used 150 mg a day of a branded extract, so that is the benchmark to hold a label against.
This guide covers what the trials actually tested, why "Pycnogenol" is not the same as any pine bark on a label, what dose to look for, and how real products in our reviews compare.
What is pine bark extract, and what is Pycnogenol?
Pine bark extract is made from the bark of pine trees, and it is rich in plant compounds called proanthocyanidins, which are antioxidants. Pycnogenol is a brand name for one specific extract of French maritime pine bark (Pinus pinaster), which one Cochrane review describes as standardized to 70 percent procyanidin.
That distinction matters. "Pine bark" on a label can mean the branded extract used in trials, a different extract from the same tree, or bark from another pine species. Research on one is not automatic proof for another. A useful label names the species, the extract type and the percent standardization, and gives a milligram amount.
Does pine bark extract help joints?
The trial that most sales pages lean on is a double-blind, placebo-controlled study of 100 people with stage I and II knee osteoarthritis. Participants took 150 mg of Pycnogenol a day with meals, or a placebo, for 3 months. The report said joint symptom scores (WOMAC) and pain ratings improved on the extract while the placebo group did not improve, and that painkiller use fell in the extract group and rose in the placebo group.
That is a real, positive result in a mild group. But it is one trial. When Cochrane reviewers pooled pine bark research across conditions in 2020, they found only three osteoarthritis studies with 293 participants in total. They rated the evidence for the knee outcomes as very low certainty, partly because each result came from a single, small study, and they concluded that no definitive conclusions could be drawn.
So the honest summary is that pine bark extract is plausible for mild knee osteoarthritis symptoms and has some early positive data, but it has not been shown to rebuild cartilage, replace medicine or help every kind of joint pain.
What about circulation, blood pressure and other claims?
Sales pages also cite pine bark for circulation, blood sugar, eyes, memory and more. The 2020 Cochrane review covered 27 randomized trials with 1,641 participants across 10 conditions, and the trials ran from 4 weeks to 6 months. The numbers per condition were small: two studies of 60 people in total for chronic venous insufficiency, seven studies of 338 people for cardiovascular disease and risk factors, and six studies of 339 people for diabetes.
The reviewers graded essentially every comparison as very low certainty, because of small trials, few trials per condition and variation in how outcomes were measured. Risk of bias was low in only 4 of the 27 trials. For most comparisons, serious adverse events and hospital admissions were not reported at all, so safety is not well established either.
An earlier Cochrane review of the branded Pycnogenol alone, covering 15 trials with 791 participants, reached the same conclusion about small samples and limited evidence. In plain terms: many conditions have been tried, and few have been tested well enough to say anything firm.
What dose and form should a label show?
Use the trial as your yardstick. The knee study used 150 mg a day. Our reviews cite 100 to 200 mg a day of standardized extract as the typical range for joint and circulation research, and some circulation studies lower. Check these items on the Supplement Facts panel.
- Species and extract name. Pinus pinaster (maritime pine) matches most of the research. Another species is not automatically wrong, but it has less direct evidence.
- Standardization. Look for a percent of proanthocyanidins or procyanidins (for example 95 percent or 70 percent).
- A separate milligram line. If the extract sits in a blend, you cannot compare it with 100 to 150 mg.
- The serving. A liquid dropper or one-drop serving cannot realistically hold 150 mg of extract plus other ingredients.
How do real pine bark products compare?
These are the pine bark labels we have audited, described as our reviews describe them.
- The Joint Genesis review lists 150 mg of Pinus pinaster pine bark extract, in line with the dose in the knee trial. Its weak points are elsewhere, including a $59 price on the page that does not exist at checkout.
- The Joint Glide review also lists 150 mg, standardized to 95 percent proanthocyanidins, but from a different species (Pinus massoniana) than most of the research used.
- The Vision 20 review lists 150 mg of maritime pine bark extract on the actual label, but the sales page's ingredient story describes a different formula, which is the main issue in that review.
- The FLOW Nitric Oxide Booster review places pine bark extract in an 850 mg blend with other ingredients and no individual amount.
- The JointVive review and the NeuroPrime review list pine bark extract with no amount in a one-drop liquid, so no comparison with the 150 mg trial is possible.
- The Pineal Guardian X review lists French maritime pine bark with no amount, within a formula built around a different story.
If you are shopping for joint products in general, the joints and mobility category lists every offer we have audited there, and how we review explains how we grade doses.
Safety, side effects and medicine questions
Pine bark extract was described as well tolerated in the osteoarthritis trial, but the larger Cochrane review noted that serious adverse events were not reported for most comparisons, and it called for better-designed trials. Absence of reports is not proof of safety, especially for long-term use.
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health notes that supplements can interact with medicines and may carry risks for people with certain medical problems or facing surgery. The FDA likewise advises talking to a doctor, pharmacist or other health care professional before using a dietary supplement, since some can interact with medicines or other supplements. Do that before starting pine bark, particularly if you take blood thinners, diabetes or blood pressure medicine, or any other prescription. None of this is medical advice.
Also remember that joint pain can have causes that need a diagnosis. A supplement is not a reason to delay seeing a doctor about persistent pain or swelling.
A quick checklist before you buy
- Is pine bark extract listed with its own milligram amount, ideally near 100 to 150 mg?
- Is the species and standardization named?
- Does the page call itself "Pycnogenol" or is it only generic "pine bark"?
- Does the sales page cite human trials, and do they match the claim (knee osteoarthritis, not "all joints")?
- Is the serving physically able to hold the stated amount?
- Have you read the refund terms and asked a pharmacist about your medicines?
FAQ
Does pine bark extract help joint pain?
One 100-person trial of 150 mg a day of Pycnogenol reported better knee osteoarthritis scores than placebo over 3 months, but the Cochrane review judged the overall evidence very low certainty and reached no definitive conclusions.
Is pine bark extract the same as Pycnogenol?
No. Pycnogenol is a brand of French maritime pine bark extract. Other products may use different extracts or species, so results for the brand do not automatically carry over.
How much pine bark extract do studies use?
The knee osteoarthritis trial used 150 mg a day. Our reviews cite about 100 to 200 mg a day of standardized extract as the usual range in joint and circulation studies.
Can pine bark extract lower blood pressure?
Some small studies looked at blood pressure, but Cochrane rated the evidence from them very low certainty, with one study of 61 people behind the diastolic result. It is not a substitute for blood pressure treatment, so talk to your doctor.
Put it into practice
Every DoseAudit review applies these checks to a real product: the label against the research, the true monthly price and the refund terms.
Sources
- Pine bark (Pinus spp.) extract for treating chronic disorders (Cochrane review, PubMed)
- Pycnogenol (extract of French maritime pine bark) for the treatment of chronic disorders (Cochrane review, PubMed)
- Effect of pine bark extract (Pycnogenol) on symptoms of knee osteoarthritis (PubMed)
- Using Dietary Supplements Wisely | NCCIH
- Questions and Answers on Dietary Supplements | FDA
This guide is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist before you start a supplement. DoseAudit may earn a commission from affiliate links in reviews; it never changes a verdict. See affiliate disclosure.
More guides
Do spermidine and fisetin extend healthy life in humans?
Mouse lifespan data, a spermidine cohort and a null 12-month trial: what the evidence shows and how three longevity supplements compare.
EvidenceWhat does astaxanthin do and how much do studies use?
What eye and skin studies of astaxanthin actually used and found, and how to check a supplement label for the dose.
EvidenceDo caralluma, forskolin or irvingia help weight loss?
What reviews and trials say about caralluma, forskolin and irvingia for weight loss, and how real products dose them.