All reviews

Doses

Vitamin K2 MK-7 doses and the blood thinner question

MK-7 labels range from tens to hundreds of mcg, and a small trial saw blood thinner effects at just 10 mcg a day. Ask a pharmacist first if you take warfarin.

Vitamin K2 as MK-7 shows up on labels anywhere from tens of micrograms to a few hundred, and one trial in healthy volunteers found that even 10 mcg a day changed blood-thinner response in some people. If you take warfarin or a similar vitamin K antagonist, ask your prescriber or pharmacist before you buy any supplement that contains vitamin K, even a small one.

This guide explains what MK-7 is, which doses show up in research and on real labels, why the blood thinner question is not a technicality, and how to read the K2 line on a Supplement Facts panel before you pay.

What is MK-7, and how is it different from other forms of vitamin K?

Vitamin K is a family of fat-soluble compounds. MedlinePlus lists the main forms as phylloquinone (K1) and menaquinone (K2), and notes that the body needs vitamin K to make clotting factors II, VII, IX and X. K1 is the form found mostly in leafy greens such as kale, spinach and collards. K2 is a group of menaquinones, and MK-7 is the long-chain version that many supplement makers favor.

MK-7 became a marketing staple because it is cheap to put on a label and it has a research story. The authors of one three-year bone trial described MK-7 as having a longer half-life and greater potency than the short-chain MK-4, which is the argument supplement sellers repeat. That is a statement about how the compound behaves, not a promise about what a bottle will do for you.

Plain-language takeaway: MK-7 is a real nutrient with real studies, but a studied nutrient is not the same as a proven product. The label amount, the form and your own medications decide whether a given capsule is reasonable.

How much vitamin K do adults actually need?

MedlinePlus, citing the National Academies dietary reference intakes, gives an Adequate Intake of 120 mcg a day for men aged 19 and older and 90 mcg a day for women aged 19 and older. An Adequate Intake is used when the evidence is not strong enough to set a Recommended Dietary Allowance, so treat it as a planning number rather than a ceiling.

The same page says vitamin K deficiency is very rare and usually tied to poor absorption or long-term antibiotic treatment, and that the best way to meet the daily requirement is through food. That context matters. Most healthy adults who eat vegetables regularly are not starting from zero, so a K2 capsule is an add-on, not a rescue.

It also helps with percent Daily Value figures. One audited label lists 200 mcg of K2 as 167% DV, which implies a 120 mcg reference amount. In other words, that single capsule ingredient is well over a full day's reference amount before you count any food.

What doses did the MK-7 studies use?

Two papers are worth knowing because they bracket the range you will see on labels.

  • 180 mcg a day for three years. Knapen and colleagues gave 244 healthy postmenopausal women either placebo or 180 mcg of MK-7 daily. The authors reported a smaller age-related decline in bone mineral density at the lumbar spine and femoral neck in the MK-7 group, but not at the total hip. That is one trial in one population, and the authors themselves leave open whether the result extends to other groups.
  • 10, 20 and 45 mcg a day, with a blood thinner. Theuwissen and colleagues gave 18 healthy volunteers an anticoagulant for four weeks, then added MK-7 at increasing doses over six weeks. This was a small safety-focused study, not a benefit trial.

Our own review data gives a similar picture. In our audits, trials of vitamin K2 for arterial flexibility commonly use 90 to 180 mcg a day, and bone and cardiovascular research on MK-7 is typically described at 45 to 180 mcg a day. Those are summaries of the research context, not recommendations, and they apply to the specific products and populations studied.

A practical way to use this: when a label lists MK-7, compare its microgram figure to this range. A label showing 90 to 200 mcg is in the neighborhood of what researchers used. A label that lists MK-7 with no number at all cannot be compared with anything.

Why does vitamin K2 matter if you take a blood thinner?

Warfarin and related drugs work by opposing vitamin K. MedlinePlus advises people on warfarin to eat consistent amounts of vitamin K-containing food from week to week, and says sudden changes in vitamin K intake can change how the medicine works. A supplement is a sudden, concentrated change in intake.

The Theuwissen study put numbers on this. The volunteers took acenocoumarol, a vitamin K antagonist in the same drug class as warfarin, and were stabilized at a target INR of 2.0 first. Then MK-7 was added. The authors reported that:

  • 45 mcg a day lowered the group average INR by about 40 percent.
  • 10 mcg and 20 mcg a day were judged by two hematologists to cause a clinically relevant INR drop in at least 40 percent and 60 percent of subjects, respectively.
  • Their conclusion was that doses as low as 10 mcg, below the usual retail dose of 45 mcg, significantly influenced anticoagulation sensitivity in some individuals, and that MK-7 supplements should be avoided in patients receiving vitamin K antagonist therapy.

Two honest limits apply. The participants were healthy volunteers deliberately anticoagulated for the experiment, not patients managing a heart condition, and the study was small. But the direction of the effect is what the pharmacology predicts, and the doses involved are smaller than what many K2 capsules contain. Newer anticoagulants such as apixaban or rivaroxaban work differently from warfarin, so do not assume the answer is the same or different for them. That is a question for your prescriber or pharmacist.

How do real supplement labels list K2?

Three offers we have audited show the range of how K2 gets presented. We describe what each page and label states, and we link to the full reviews for the rest.

OfferHow K2 appearsWhat to notice
Cardio ShieldVitamin K as K2 (MK-7), 200 mcg, listed as 167% DVA stated amount you can check. The plant ingredients sit in a separate 570 mg proprietary blend, and the label itself tells you to consult a physician first.
VenoPlus 8MenaQ7 (MK-7), amount not statedA branded ingredient with no microgram figure on the sales page, so it cannot be compared with the 90 to 180 mcg research range.
DentalPrimeVitamin K2 (MK-7) in a tooth tablet, amount not statedOur review notes the page does not mention the vitamin K and blood thinner issue.

Notice that the one with a stated dose is the only one you can reason about. A 200 mcg capsule is above the 180 mcg used in the bone trial, and far above the 10 to 45 mcg range where the blood thinner study already saw an effect. For anyone on a vitamin K antagonist that is a conversation to have with a clinician, not something a sales page can settle.

For the two with no stated amount, the problem runs the other way: you do not know whether the dose is trivial or substantial, so neither you nor your doctor can judge it. To see how we weigh that kind of gap across a whole page, read how we review supplement offers.

A short checklist before you buy a supplement with K2

  1. Find the K2 line on the Supplement Facts panel and write down the number in mcg. If there is no number, you cannot compare the product with any study.
  2. Check whether the form is named as MK-7 or MK-4. They are not interchangeable.
  3. Check the percent Daily Value, and remember it is only a reference figure, not a recommendation for you.
  4. Look for K2 inside multi-ingredient formulas. It is often added to heart, bone and even tooth products, so a product that is not sold as a vitamin K supplement can still contain it. Browse the heart health and oral health audits to see how it appears.
  5. Ask yourself whether you take warfarin, acenocoumarol or another drug your pharmacist says is affected by vitamin K. If yes, ask before you order, not after.
  6. Check the refund terms in advance, and read our ClickBank refund guide so you know what a no-questions-asked promise requires you to do.

The FDA advises consumers to talk to a doctor, pharmacist or other health care professional before deciding to buy or use a dietary supplement, and gives interactions with medicines as a reason. Vitamin K and blood thinners are a textbook example.

FAQ

How much vitamin K2 MK-7 should I take?

There is no single number we can give you, and we do not give medical advice. For context, the Adequate Intake for total vitamin K is 90 mcg a day for adult women and 120 mcg a day for adult men, mostly met through food. The bone trial above used 180 mcg a day of MK-7. Your doctor or pharmacist can say whether any amount fits your situation.

Can I take vitamin K2 if I am on warfarin?

Do not start on your own. Warfarin works against vitamin K, MedlinePlus says sudden changes in vitamin K intake can change how it works, and a small study found that MK-7 at 10 to 45 mcg a day altered anticoagulation response in some volunteers on a related drug. Ask your prescriber or anticoagulation clinic first.

Is K2 in a multi-ingredient formula safe for blood thinner users?

The ingredient does not become harmless because it shares a capsule with other things. A K2 amount inside a heart, bone or tooth formula counts the same way. If the label gives no amount, ask the seller, or choose a product that states one, then show it to your pharmacist.

Does the Supplement Facts panel show whether K2 is MK-4 or MK-7?

Often it does, in parentheses, as in "Vitamin K (as K2, MK-7)". If the form is missing, treat it as incomplete information. Our full list of audited offers is on the reviews page.

Put it into practice

Every DoseAudit review applies these checks to a real product: the label against the research, the true monthly price and the refund terms.

Browse 518 reviews

Sources

This guide is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a doctor or pharmacist before you start a supplement. DoseAudit may earn a commission from affiliate links in reviews; it never changes a verdict. See affiliate disclosure.

More guides